Bali tourist tax to be introduced from February 14

Holidaymakers heading to Bali to soak up the sunshine will soon have to allocate some extra cash in their budget, as a new tourist tax comes into effect this week.

The holiday island has long been one of the most popular tourist destinations for Australian travellers.

Now, international tourists heading to Bali will be charged a fresh tax of IDR 150,000 ($A15) per person from Wednesday.

Newsletters: Breaking news as it happens. Subscribe now Subscribe now

The fee comes on top of the existing $50 visa-on-arrival charge.

Here’s what you need to know.

What is the Bali tourist tax?

Bali Tourism Department head Tjok Bagus Pemayun last year announced all foreign nationals would have to pay the tax when entering the province of Bali.

The government said the payment “applies only once during a trip to Bali”.

However, there has been some confusion over whether the tax is a one-off fee for visitors to Bali, or if they will have to pay each time they re-enter the province.

The Bali administration told “The levy is paid only once while travelling in Bali, before the person leaves the territory of the Republic of Indonesia.”

This means travellers who leave Bali to visit a nearby province such as Lombok will not have to pay the tax again upon re-entry to Bali.

Travellers will still have to pay the visa on arrival for entering Indonesia, which costs about $A50 and lasts up to 30 days. has contacted the tourism department for further comment.

How can I pay the tax?

To pay the tax, simply head to the government’s Love Bali website or download the app.

Tourists will need to enter their details including passport number, arrival date and full name.

Once successful, visitors will be emailed a levy voucher to present, to be checked in Bali.

There is also the option to pay at a bank counter at Gusti Ngurah Rai Airport or Benoa Bali Harbour.

What will the tourist tax be used for?

The tax will be used to make tourism more sustainable for the province, according to the government.

This includes improving waste management, preserving local culture and the environment, and building quality infrastructure and transportation.

More than one million Australians travel to Indonesia each year, and Australians account for more than a quarter of tourists in Bali.

Officials are confident the new tourist tax would not deter travellers from visiting the island.

Who is exempt?

There are some people who will not have to pay the tax, including:

  • Diplomatic and official visa holders
  • Family unification, student, golden and business-specific visa holders
  • Holders of temporary or permanent stay permit cards (KITAS or KITAP)
  • Specific non-tourist visa holders
  • Conveyance crew

They can apply for an exemption, but must do so at least one month before entering Bali.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *