Bali is imposing a tourist tax on visitors from February 14. Here’s what you need to know

The Indonesian province of Bali has long been one of the most popular tourist destinations for Australian travellers. 

But as of Wednesday, there will be an extra requirement people travelling to the tourist hotspot will need to factor into their plans.

It’s known as the Bali tourist tax.

What is the Bali tourist tax? 

It’s a small fee that will be imposed by the Indonesian government from February 14, 2024

It’s only for people who travel to the province of Bali.

People who travel to other Indonesian provinces will not have to pay the tax. 

How much will it cost? 

It will cost 150,000 IDR per person, which equates to about $15. 

How can I pay the tourism levy? 

Visitors can pay online via the LOVE BALI website or mobile app by bank transfer, virtual account, or Qris payment.

They will be required to provide the following information:

  • Name
  • Passport number
  • Email
  • Arrival date

Visitors will then receive a voucher by email, which they can then scan upon arrival at the relevant checkpoints.

Cashless payments can also be made at Bali’s I Gusti Ngurah Rai International Airport (DPS), as well as any other harbourside entry point. 

Passengers are seen standing outside the international airport terminal in Bali.

International passengers are seen outside the terminal after the airport on the resort island of Bali reopened following the eruption of Mount Agung volcano at Ngurah Rai International Airport, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia November 29, 2017.(Reuters: Johannes P Christo)

Up to 18,000 people fly into Bali each day. If you are concerned about encountering queues, remember the Indonesian government says it will have at least 20 officers on duty to help out. 

Plus, it has signed a partnership deal with Indonesia’s BRI Bank to ensure the process is quick and easy. 

Is it a one-off fee? 

Yes, so long as you don’t leave and come back. 

If you leave Bali and enter another province, for example Lombok, then you’ll have to pay the tax again upon re-entry. 

But because the following three three islands are part of Bali Province, you won’t have to pay the tax again if you travel to and from:

  • Nusa Penida
  • Nusa Lembongan
  • Nusa Ceningan

That’s because the fee is a tax that only applies to province of Bali. 

What will the new tourist tax be used for? 

We’ve known this extra expense has been coming since it was announced last September. 

The Indonesian government says it’s part of its efforts to conserve the island’s natural environment and culture and improve the quality of services and safety standards experienced by tourists. 

The tax could bring in nearly $185,000 each day. 

That is based on figures reported by the The Bali Sun, which says about 4.5 million international tourists visited the island last year. 

What happens if I don’t pay? 

You could be fined or deported

Indonesian authorities have been cracking down on unruly behaviour since setting up the Bali Becik Task Force last August.

They’ve set themselves a goal of performing 100 immigration-control operations every month — and that’s expected to lead to more fines and deportations.

But there are some people who will not have to pay the Bali tourist tax including: 

  • Diplomatic and official visa holders: Those visiting Indonesia to conduct government business, a diplomatic posting, or special assignments in Indonesia
  • Conveyance crew: Those working on board a ship
  • KITS/ KITAP holders: Those who possess a Residence Permit Card for a temporary, limited or permanent stay to live and work
  • Family unification, golden and student visa holders: Those helping family settle, corporate investors and students
  • Specific non-tourist visa holders

Do you need a visa for Bali?


The visa on arrival (VOA) costs 500,000 IDR or about $50 and lasts up to 30 days. 

Australia is one of 159 countries whose tourists must pay the fee — which covers travel all over Indonesia, not just Bali. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *